Independence 1968-1992


Independent Mauritius

Mauritius achieved independence on 12 March 1968 with H. R. H. Elizabeth II as Queen of Mauritius, represented as head of state by a Governor-General appointed solely on the advice of the Cabinet of Mauritius without the involvement of the British government. In the event of a vacancy, the Chief Justice served as Officer Administering the Government. The newly adopted constitution was based on the British parliamentary system. Political power being vested in the Prime Minister and the Cabinet. The first Governor General was Sir John Shaw Rennie nominated by her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Governor-Generals of Mauritius

1- Sir John Shaw Rennie March 12,1968-August 27, 1968

Sir John Shaw RennieSir John Shaw Rennie, GCMG, OBE was a British civil servant who was was appointed Britain's deputy colonial secretary for Mauritius. He was appointed Governor of Mauritius, overseeing Mauritius' transition to independence.

After independence, he was appointed Governor-general and Dr Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, in office since 26 September 1961, head of government.

These were trouble times and the passing over ceremony was done while the country was still under state of emergency.




Rennie SSR
12031968On March 12, 1968, the Union Jack was brought down and the Mauritian flag hoisted for the first time.The Stella Clavisque Maris Indicci Coat of Arms, which had beem on the pre-independence flag was kept. A new national Anthem was played for the first time in place of the God save the Queen.
The Mauritian Flag consists of four equal horizontal coloured stripes,Red, Blue, Yellow, Green. The symbolic meaning of the colours are:
Red:represents the struggle for freedom and independence
Blue:represents the ocean and theinsular natureof the country.
Yellow: represents the sun light shining on our future.
Green: represents the the evergreen vegetation of the country and its agriculture. 




Prime Minister: Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam








Sir Michel Jean Joseph Laval Rivalland August 27, 1968-September 3, 1968 (acting)

Sir Michel Rivalland was the first post-independence Mauritian Chief Justice.  He attended the Royal College Curepipe and was a laureate.  He joined the judiciary in 1942 and was appointed Chief Justice on February 7, 1967.

He was the acting Governor-general, as per the new constitution,  for 7 days until the arrival of Sir Lenonard Williams, the new Governor appointed by H.M. Queen Elizabeth II.

Head of state: H.M. Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Mauritius

Prime Minister: Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam

2- Sir Arthur Leonard Williams G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. September 03, 1968-December 17, 1972

Sir Atthur Leonard Williams, a former General secretary of the British Labour Party. When he retired, he was knighted and appointed Governor-General of Mauritius and took office on September 3, 1968. Sir Len Williams died in office at Le Reduit State House on December 27, 1972 and was buried in the neighbouring St John's Cemetery in Réduit.

3- Sir Abdool Raman Mohamed Osman December 27, 1971- October 31, 1977, 1973 (acting)

SirAbdool Raman Mahomed Osman(29 August 1902 – 1992) was the Governor General of Mauritius from 27 December 1972 to 31 October 1977. He was knighted in 1973, and was the first non-British Mauritian governor general. The Royal College of Phoenix was renamedSir Abdool Raman Osman State College, in late 1996

3- Sir Henry Garrioch October 31, 1977, March 23, 1978 (acting)
4- Sir Dayendranath Burrenchobay March 23, 1978-December 28, 1983
5- Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam December 28, 1983- December 15, 1985
Sir Cassam Moollan December 15, 1985-January 17, 1986 (acting)

Nice and useful sites

histoire genealogie France genweb

Memoire des hommes

Newsletter subscription

Fill in the fields below only if you wish to receive our newsletter.
Thank you for subscribing to our Newsletter.

Visits since August 2010


Your IP:
2018-01-20 18:08
© 2015-2016 CGMR All Rights Reserved. Designed By JC Dantier

offcanvas menu_en